More on the Lincoln Drive Trail closing

This is the sign posted along the trail alerting people of the upcoming trail closing. In the background is the retaining wall they are planning to fix.

So, I stopped to get the scoop on the trail closing to on my way into work and was told by a very nice crew of about 10 city(?) workers that the trail would be closed, starting tomorrow, for some “temporary fixes” that would help “keep Lincoln Drive from falling into the creek until some federal dollars come through”. The sign posted (photo above) said the trail closing would be Feb. 7-April 30, but the crew I spoke with said they thought it could be opened back up earlier. Let’s hope!

When I came home tonight I had a message on my phone and in my inbox. So, while I wasn’t given much warning, at least information about the trail closing was eventually disseminated. As for getting around the closing, we plan to take Kitchen’s Lane down to Forbidden Drive to connect with what I believe will be an open section of the Lincoln Dr. Trail from Forbidden Drive to Ridge Ave. (and then on toward Center City). On lazy or busy days, we’ll just park in East Falls and bike from there. Here’s hoping this plan works out and the repairs are made quickly! I’m viewing it as a nice excuse to spend more time along Forbidden Drive, which I usually cut out via Wissahickon Ave and Rittenhouse Town in order to save time…

This From West Mount Airy Neighbors, via email:

Repair Work on Lincoln Drive

Emergency repair work begins on February 7th along Lincoln Drive between Rittenhouse Street & Forbidden Drive.
The stone/masonry retaining walls in this area were damaged by last year’s record rainfalls. The work is expected to take 2 months. The parking areas on the southbound side will be closed. The Park Trail between Forbidden Drive & the Pabst Lane Bridge will be closed to pedestrians & bicyclists.There will be some vehicular lane closings during off-peak hours.Check local traffic reports & updates if you’re planning to use Lincoln Drive.
No detours are planned.
For further info, contact the Streets Department at 215-686-5560.
6 comments on “More on the Lincoln Drive Trail closing

  1. Ken says:

    Just discovered your blog. I avoided the Lincoln Drive trail in the morning and found it blocked in the evening. I took the alternate you suggested. Climbing Kitchens Lane left me huffing and puffing though 😉

    I saw your snow commute pictures. I’m impressed. I tried riding the Saturday of the snow and was slip sliding all over the place. I cut short my ride.

  2. So glad you found the blog, Ken. Yes, Kitchens is certainly a lot tougher than going through Rittenhouse Town, but at least we can still get through. Let’s hope the construction is completed quickly. As for the snow, yes, on the Lincoln Drive trail, since they don’t plow it, it can be pretty crazy, and I almost wiped out a few times. Truth be told, in the snow I often “cheat” and bike in from East Falls, where the trail is almost always plowed, but I didn’t have a choice during our last snow storm, and in the end it was actually really fun. Since I wasn’t in a hurry, I took my time and took in the beauty. The park is so pretty covered in snow.

  3. Ken says:

    It’s silly, but last evening as I passed through the Forbidden Drive parking lot I saw a woman on a bike talking on the phone and thought, “That could be the cycle to work blogger.” Unfortunately I was staring while thinking and probably made her feel uncomfortable.

    When I turned up the path to Kitchen’s Lane, I could hear children’s voices and the indistinct forms of dogs and grownups. As I got close one of the men called out, “Are you a swamp monster?” I replied I was just a biker and the man said, “that’s what Adam thought, but Tony wasn’t sure.”

    It made for an interesting ride home. 😉

  4. That was me! I was calling my husband to pick me up at lot 12 because I realized going along the Lincoln Drive trail that I had forgotten my bike light and was worried about doing Forbidden Drive in the dark alone…I was probably looking at you funny too because I was thinking, if I knew that guy, I could just follow behind him with his light. How funny!

  5. Ken says:

    Oh, I am so sorry I didn’t say something. I didn’t want to come off as creepy. Darn, darn, darn.

    Next time … 🙂

  6. […] lastly, should anyone be looking for another alternative while the trail work along Lincoln Drive is going on, to the side of the guard rail along Lincoln Drive there is a narrow but passable path. […]

Leave a Reply

