Whew, it has been awhile…updates on riding in the snow, bridge work and an upcoming trail closing (?!)

Riding home from work today I saw signs along the trail leading from Forbidden Drive Trail to Rittenhouse Town (near Lincoln Drive) stating that the trail would be closed from February 7 to April 30th! What? I’ve done a bit of searching online, but I haven’t found more details (such as the reason for the closing, exactly which sections of the trails will be closed, whether or not the trail will be closed at all times of the day, every day of the week…). Anyone know more? Let me know!

Anyway, when I saw the signs I remembered this blog and how I’ve long neglected it. So, a few quick updates:

Biking this winter has not been as much of an adventure as the last few, because it has barely seemed like winter at all. Our weather has been so nice! I’ve had a whopping ONE bike commute in the snow (January 23rd). (Our one other snow storm was on a weekend…in October!) Yep, just one day of commuting in real snow. But, I did take some pictures.

Commuting through snow (Lincoln Drive Trail, bridge near Forbidden Drive Trail)

Lincoln Drive Trail

By the time I got here, along the Kelly Drive Trail, the trail had been plowed, as the Kelly Dr. Trail usually is when it snows (often well before most streets are plowed), and the remaining snow was starting to melt. So pretty!

In other Philly bicycle commuting news, the bridge over the Kelly Drive Trail that used to periodically drop large rocks onto the trail has been fixed (January 13th). So, now the only thing I have to dodge on the way to work is the woman who rollerblades in zigzags wearing only shorts and a tank top tucked up under her bra (in January!). Yes, it has been warm, but I haven’t yet had the urge to bike in a tank top, much less tuck it up into my bra. I haven’t gotten up the courage to take her picture yet, but here is the construction on the bridge:

Crew fixing the bridge above Kelly Drive Trail (and shadows of Ivan and me)

Leave a Reply

